Day 88 – Destination: Paradise

Untitled

Trek from Kalaw to Inle Lake, Myanmar – Day 3 (08.07.2013)

Marching all morning through red mud, pine forests, mountain highway, down the rocky mountainside, into bamboo growth and then arrival at the destination: Inle Lake.

It took us 3 days, 50 kilometres, 4 mountain ranges, a dozen villages, 2 blisters (for me at least, poor Cara had 8!), a bout of Burma Belly, and innumerable beautiful memories to reach Inle.

The prize? A one hour boat ride across her waters.

So many times in Myanmar I’ve had the sensation that it is too surreal to be true – an eery sense that I’m living a kind tourist’s Truman Show where life is staged for my benefit. I know that can’t be true but there is postcard perfect beauty around every turn and this country just keeps taking my breath away. Inle Lake is another truly magical spot.

About Cassandra

Hi, I'm Cassandra. I work in fundraising, love travelling, and am fascinated by how we can inspire one another to greatness and spread human kindness. Connect with me on twitter @cassandra_nz
This entry was posted in Myanmar and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment