Loy Krathong

(null)

Bangkok, Thailand (17.11.2013)

Sunday was a full moon. Each year in Thailand, on the full moon of the 12th month of the traditional Thai calendar (which usually falls in November), the nation celebrates Loy Krathong, which translates roughly as “floating crowns” or “floating decorations”.

On this night Thais congregate near lakes and rivers to send beautifully decorated and candlelit offerings out into the water. I have had explained both as a symbol of letting go of past anger or disappointments and as an offering of gratitude to water. Either way, the waterways light up with thousands of glowing decorations and ethereal paper lanterns are also sent sparkling towards the heavens.

I celebrated Loy Krathong at Chatuchak park, which is very near my home in Bangkok. It was a very gentle evening that left me walking home with a sense of deep contentment. This city has started to feel so normal to me that it was quite lovely to be reminded just how little I understand about this complex nation and culture. I realised how lucky I am to be living in such a beautiful and fascinating country (even if we are in the middle of a surge of protests and political unrest).

About Cassandra

Hi, I'm Cassandra. I work in fundraising, love travelling, and am fascinated by how we can inspire one another to greatness and spread human kindness. Connect with me on twitter @cassandra_nz
This entry was posted in Bangkok, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment