Chinatown

Untitled

Bangkok, Thailand (11.01.2014)

It’s funny isn’t it? The way an exotic place becomes droll as soon as you make it your home.

I’ve lived in Bangkok for almost 6 months now and I’ve started to take it for granted. The sights and sounds and smells and sweets that captivated me on arrival have become the backdrop for a normal work-and-play life.

That’s why I love visitors. They come with their eyes wide open and help you see again with that glint of wonder. My friend Ingrid and her partner Patrick were recently passing through the big mango at the start of an epic Asian adventure. It’s was a streaking visit but I was lucky to share some moments exploring the city with them.

Mam, my colleague and friend, kindly took us on a tour of Chinatown. Winding streets crammed with vendors and lanterns and markets and temples. Crumbling old edifices and dusty shops filled with ancient products and ancient faces. And a strangely large number of shops selling scales and coffins and tea.

It was fun to play the tourist again, exploring this city with new eyes, snapping the scene.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

P1060831

About Cassandra

Hi, I'm Cassandra. I work in fundraising, love travelling, and am fascinated by how we can inspire one another to greatness and spread human kindness. Connect with me on twitter @cassandra_nz
This entry was posted in Bangkok, Thailand and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chinatown

  1. Bosmosis says:

    Keeping that frame of mind alive all the time is the key to a lifetime of ‘travel’ wherever you happen to be. The truth is you never really know a place, particularly a big city, even after years of living there. There is always something to discover. Visitors merely remind me of what I don’t know. Good post.

    I blog about expat life and other things as well, and am always looking to connect with other bloggers who share similar concerns. Please visit me at SweetPicklesandCorn and OutsideLookingIn if you have a free moment. Cheers, and keep up the good work.

Leave a comment